BRCAnomics: Who Needs Anesthesia Anyway?

laughing orangutans

Next week is the first anniversary of my mastectomy. It’s been a crazy year of ups and downs: healing,  minor complications, tumultuous emotional fallout, revision surgeries, lingering fatigue, negotiating work while still recovering, adjusting to the new body, the angst of finding out that most of my clothes didn’t fit after so many surgeries, buying new bras and clothes for a body with proportions I’m still not used to. Seriously, y’all, those first few attempts at bra buying post-mastectomy were traumatic as hell.

It’s been a rough year, but mostly deal-able. I’m glad it’s “over”–even though I have some doubts about whether it will ever really be over. Maybe that’s what it means to be BRCA+, you stay in that liminal zone between healthy and sick forever.

Really, one thing about the mastectomy has not been manageable: my insurance company’s refusal to cover particular aspects of the pre-authorized procedure. The saga of “will they or won’t they pay for my breast surgeon?” continues. Although it does seem like there’s been some progress there. We may have finally figured out what the problem is–wrong diagnosis code. Yes, it took 11 months to get to this utterly predictable conclusion. I hope this resolves that problem, but really who knows?

And then today, I received a new bill: insurance is refusing to cover my anesthesia for the mastectomy. Again, this comes a full year after the procedure. You can’t make this shit up, folks.

I’m not going to go into the details of how absurd this is. If you’ve so much as glanced at this blog before, then you already know, so why beat a dead horse? Still, I think the financial aspects of prophylactic mastectomy need to be discussed and I feel the need to document them here. At the very least, I want other BRCA+ women to know they’re not alone.

One thought on “BRCAnomics: Who Needs Anesthesia Anyway?

Leave a Reply

