BRCAnomics Deja Vu

Great news, y’all, my BRCAnomics problems with my insurance company refusing to pay my breast surgeon have been fixed!

image

PFFFT! Just kidding! That will never ever happen!

A few months ago, an insurance company representative told me that the issue was being fixed and that the claim should be covered. I didn’t actually believe her. After all, I’ve been through this too many times in the last year to trust anything an insurance representative tells me. So I wasn’t surprised to receive my “revised” bill for $4,336.80. Granted, it’s an improvement over the $6,672 bills that I’ve been receiving for the last year, but it’s still a far cry from what it ought to be. It’s a good thing I can’t set things on fire with my brain.

Insurance ought to be covering 90% of in network claims and they have for every other aspect of the mastectomy and reconstruction. Hospitals, the plastic surgeon, labs, etc. have all been paid. Apparently, though, Anthem BCBS hates my breast surgeon. Or maybe they just hate me. Or maybe they’re just really bad at math.

I mean, I’m not an accountant or anything, but my insurance policy states that I owe 10% for in-network claims. Last time I checked 10% of $6,672–AKA the amount I should actually owe–is $667.20. That’s capitalism for you: the math never seems to add up.

It’s been about a year since my surgery and here I am again, on the phone with billing offices. Literally. Hours of muzak, speaker phone, friendly representatives, the usual. I’ve spoken to four different women in four different offices this afternoon all of whom gave me different explanations for “why” this wasn’t covered. Really, though, they don’t know why it wasn’t covered, because they all say it ought to have been covered.

I don’t know what lesson to draw from all this. I did everything I was supposed to do. I researched surgeons and hospitals that were in my network. I called the insurance company multiple times to check on coverage. I spoke extensively with the finance people at the offices of the surgeons I chose. I made sure that the mastectomy and reconstruction were pre-authorized by my insurance company before I underwent surgery. There’s nothing more that I could’ve done.

But it’s a trap, isn’t it? Insurance companies routinely reject legitimate claims that ought to be covered. It’s a matter of stamina. They know many people don’t have the energy, financial literacy, time, or other resources to contest these nonsensical rejections. They save money by purposely fucking with the mental health and finances of patients.

The more bullshit they throw at me, the more stubborn I’m getting. I don’t care how many phone calls and representatives and years it takes: I’m not paying more than 10%. Ain’t happening.

2 thoughts on “BRCAnomics Deja Vu

Leave a Reply

